NZ vs PAK 2024: Does PCB not trust Shaheen? Big change in Pakistan’s captaincy before New Zealand series


Shaheen Afridi-led Pakistan team has reached Auckland ahead of the first T20I.

Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Afridi. (Image Source: Getty Images)

Pakistan’s tour of New Zealand 2024, NZ vs PAK: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) today on January 8 Mohammad Rizwan (Mohammed Rizwan) has been appointed as the vice-captain of Pakistan’s T20I team.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) recently appointed Shaheen Shah Afridi to the T20I squad, and before that Shan Masood () after Babar Azam resigned from the captaincy in all three formats of the game. Shan Masood) was given the captaincy of the Test team.

I am grateful to PCB: Mohammad Rizwan

Meanwhile, Mohammad Rizwan’s first assignment as deputy to Pakistan T20I captain Shaheen Afridi will be the upcoming five-match T20I series against New Zealand, starting on January 12. Let us tell you, 31-year-old Rizwan has played a total of 85 T-20 international matches for the Pakistan cricket team so far, where he has scored 2,797 runs with the help of one century and 25 half-centuries.

Read here: These cricket legends and renowned commentators will grace ILT20 2024 with their voices; Know when and where you can watch the match

As a wicketkeeper-batsman, Rizwan has taken a total of 41 catches in T20I cricket so far, and made 11 stumpings. According to the PCB, Mohammad Rizwan said on being appointed vice-captain: “It is a great honor for me to be named as the vice-captain of Pakistan’s T20I team. I am grateful to PCB for entrusting me with this responsibility. I look forward to working closely with the captain, the coaching staff and my teammates to contribute to the team’s success.”

Here is Pakistan’s full squad for New Zealand tour:

Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain and wicketkeeper), Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wicketkeeper), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasibullah (wicketkeeper), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan.

Here’s the full schedule for the NZ vs PAK T20I series:

1st T20I match – 12 January 2024, Eden Park, Auckland

2nd T20I Match – 14 January 2024, Seddon Park, Hamilton

3rd T20I Match – 17 January 2024, University Oval, Dunedin

4th T20I Match – 19 January 2024, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Fifth T20I Match – 21 January 2024, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.