Prakhar Chaturvedi broke Brian Lara’s world record in Under-19 cricket itself.


Samit Dravid took two wickets for Karnataka.

Prakhar Chaturvedi. (Image Source: BCCI Domestic

Great West Indies batsman Brian Lara is the only cricketer in the world to cross the 400* run mark in Test cricket. Brian Lara made this world record in the last phase of his career. But achieving this historic feat at the Under-19 level is a big thing, and young Karnataka batsman Prakhar Chaturvedi (Prakhar Chaturvedi) has done the same feat against Mumbai in the final of Cooch Behar Trophy.

Prakhar Chaturvedi scored an unbeaten 404* in the first innings against Mumbai in the final of Cooch Behar Trophy, a four-day tournament played every year for under-19 cricketers and made many records in his name. Prakhar opened the innings for Karnataka and played till the end, facing 638 balls and hitting 46 fours and 3 sixes. He has become the first batsman to score 400 runs in an innings in the final of Cooch Behar Trophy.

Prakhar Chaturvedi created history

Karnataka scored a huge score of 890 runs for the loss of eight wickets in 223 overs before declaring their first innings on the strength of Prakhar Chaturvedi’s innings. Interestingly, in the same match, India’s head coach Rahul Dravid’s son Samit Dravid also scored only 22 runs in 46 balls while batting at number five. Whereas Harshil Dharmani scored 169 runs in 228 balls with the help of 19 fours and five sixes.

Read here: Will Shivam Dubey’s international cricket career end after Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav become fit?

Prakhar Chaturvedi made a partnership of 290 runs with Harshil Dharmani for the second wicket and also added unbeaten 163 runs for the ninth wicket with Samarth N. If we talk about the final match, it was played at KSCA Nevule Stadium, where Mumbai opener Ayush Mhatre scored 380 runs thanks to an inning of 145 runs. Samit Dravid took two wickets for Karnataka.

Karnataka won the title

Then, on the strength of Prakhar’s record-breaking innings, Karnataka took a huge lead of 510 runs in the first innings and soon after declaring the innings on the fourth day, both the teams decided to end the match on a draw. Karnataka became champions of the Cooch Behar Trophy this season with a huge lead in the first innings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.