Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) announced the team for Sri Lanka tour


Walter Chavaguta has been appointed as the interim head coach of the Zimbabwe cricket team.

Zimbabwe Cricket Team. (Image Source: Getty Images)

Craig Erwin with Sri Lanka tour Zimbabwe Cricket Team All set to return as captain. Actually, Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) has today announced the teams for the upcoming three-match ODI and T20I series against Sri Lanka on January 1.

Craig Erwin will lead the Zimbabwe cricket team in the ODI series on the Sri Lanka tour, while veteran all-rounder Sean Williams will miss the upcoming tour due to the injury he sustained in the second T20I against Ireland last month. Captain Erwin has recovered from a groin problem so he has been included in both the ODI and T20I squads.

Zimbabwe Cricket Team announced for Sri Lanka tour

Uncapped offspinner Tapiwa Mufudza, who impressed everyone with 18 wickets in the Pro50 Championship 2023, has been included in Zimbabwe’s ODI squad for the first time. On the other hand, fast bowling all-rounder Faraz Akram is also ready for his international debut, as he has also been selected in the ODI team.

Meanwhile, seven new faces who featured in the home series against Ireland have been named in the Zimbabwe squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, with Brian Bennett, Ainsley Ndlovu and Carl Mumba replacing Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tapiwa Mufudza. And Faraz Akram is included.

Read here: Sri Lankan team gets new T20I captain, now this player will take command

Sikandar Raza will take charge of the T20I team. Let us tell you, Zimbabwe’s star all-rounder Wesley Madhewere was ignored for the Sri Lanka tour after being suspended by Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) for violating anti-doping rules. Zimbabwe Cricket has appointed Walter Chavaguta as the interim head coach of the Zimbabwe cricket team for the tour of Sri Lanka.

Let us tell you, Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka will be played on 6, 8 and 11 January, after which three T20I matches will be played between the two teams on 14, 16 and 18 January. All matches will be played at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo.

Zimbabwe ODI team:

Craig Ervin (captain), Faraj Akram, Ryan Burl, Joylord Gambi, Luke Jongwe, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarwa, Alexander Raza, Shumba Milton.

Zimbabwe T20I squad:

Sikandar Raza (captain), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervin, Joylord Gambi, Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Ainsley Ndlovu, Richard Ngarwa, Milton Shumba.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.